## (TO BE PUBLISHED IN THE GAZETTE OF INDIA, SECTION - I)

## No. F. 3-3/2017-U.3

Government of India
Ministry of Human Resource Development
Department of Higher Education
U.3 Section

Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi Dated the 13<sup>th</sup> December, 2018

## RESOLUTION

Whereas the previous Council of Indian Council of Historical Research (ICHR) was constituted on the 24<sup>th</sup> February, 2015; the term of the Council having expired on 27<sup>th</sup> March, 2018, the Government of India has resolved to re-constitute the Indian Council of Historical Research under Rule 3 of the 'Rules of the Indian Council of Historical Research, New Delhi, 1972', with the following members for a period of three years w.e.f. the date of this resolution or the date of the first meeting of the re-constituted Council, whichever is later;

I. Dr. Arvind P. Jamkhedkar

Dr. Arvind P. Jamkhedkar has assumed the Charge of ICHR as the Chairman w.e.f 05.03.2018 for a period of three years

- II. Eighteen Historians nominated by the Government of India.
  - Prof. (Retd.) Vibha Upadhyay, Deptt. Of History & Indian Culture, University of Rajasthan
  - Dr. Surjit Kaur Jolly, former Principal, Shyama Prasad Mukherjee College, University of Delhi
  - iii. Prof. (Retd.) C I Issac, P. G. Department of History, C.M.S. College, Kottayam, Kerala
  - iv. Prof. Kapil Kumar, Director, Indira Gandhi Centre for Freedom Struggle Studies & Chairperson, Faculty of History, IGNOU
  - v. Prof. (Dr.) Umesh Kadam, Professor in Medieval Indian History, Centre for Historical Studies, School of Social Sciences, JNU

- vi. Dr. Shridhar Madhukar alias Raja Dixit, former Professor and Head, Inter Disciplinary School (Humanities and Social Sciences), Savitri Bai Phule University, Pune
- vii. Prof. Raghuvendra Tanwar, Professor and Dean Academic Affairs, Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra, Haryana
- viii. Dr. Meenakshi Jain, Department of History, Gargi College, Siri Fort Road, Delhi-110049
- ix. Prof. (Retd.) Suman Jain, Deptt. Of Ancient Indian History, Culture and Archaeology
- x. Prof. Tamo Mibang, former Vice-chancellor, Rajiv Gandhi University, Arunachal Pradesh.
- xi. Prof. (Retd.) V Kishan Rao, Deptt. Of Ancient History, Osmania University
- xii. Prof. Baidyanath Labh (Professor, Department of Buddhist Studies, University of Jammu, Jammu) Vice Chancellor, Nav Nalanda Mahavihara (Deemed University), Bihar
- xiii. Prof. Himanshu Kumar Chaturvedi, Professor, Department of Medieval and Modern History, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gorakhpur University, Gorakhpur
- xiv. Dr. Ishwar Sharan Vishwakarma, Department of Ancient History, DDU Gorakhpur University, Uttar Pradesh
- xv. Dr. M. Kotresh, Professor, Department of P.G. Studies and Research in History and Archeology, Tumkur University, Karnataka
- xvi. Prof. Saradindu Mukherji, C-209, ILA Apartments, Vasundhara Enclave, Delhi
- xvii. Prof. Rahman Ali, Head (Retd.), School of Studies in Ancient Indian History, Culture and Archeology, and former Dean, Vikram University, Ujjain (MP)
- xviii. Prof. Rajeev Ranjan, Department of History, College of Commerce Arts & Science, Patliputra University, Patna
- III. Representative of the University Grants Commission, New Delhi

- IV. The Director General, National Archives of India, Janpath, New Delhi 110001
- V. The Director General, Archaeological Survey of India, Janpath, New Delhi 110001
- VI. The names of the four persons to represent Government of India will be issued subsequently
- VII. Member Secretary, Indian Council of Historical Research, 35, Ferozshah Road, New Delhi 110001

## **ORDER**

It is hereby ordered that the Resolution be published in the Gazette of India for general information.

(Ishita Roy)

Joint Secretary to the Government of India

The Manager, Government of India Press, Ring Road, Mayapuri, New Delhi- 110064.

No. F. 3-3/2017-U.3

Dated 17.12.2018

Copy forwarded to:-

- Chairman and Members of the Indian Council of Historical Research, 35, Ferozshah Road, New Delhi – 110001
- 2. PS to HRM/ Secretary (HE)/JS(HE)/FA(HRD)

(Ishita Roy)

Joint Secretary to the Government of India